top of page

Jenderseck shows he’s classy team player after losing starting job


Sometimes the toughest choices require the strongest wills.


When senior Kyler Jenderseck lost the starting quarterback battle to Eric Wiley a week before the regular season began, he could’ve easily stepped away and called it quits.


After all, Jenderseck is a valued member of the Lawton High baseball team, and that time could’ve been used to fine-tune his skills in preparation for this spring.


Jenderseck, though, was the epitome of class.


Entering the offseason, Jenderseck seemed like the obvious choice for the starting role as signal caller after being the primary backup to Alihas Hopper in 2017. On paper, he was the next in line.

However, Jenderseck said he knew he’d be in for a battle with Wiley.


“He’s gotten substantially better since his freshman year,” Jenderseck said of Wiley. “He makes way better decisions on the field. I don’t treat him as a rival or anything because we’re good friends. As quarterbacks, we’re together throughout practice and talking throughout practice.”


The two were neck-and-neck for much of the spring and into the preseason, and the decision came down to who competed better against Ardmore in the second scrimmage.


Unfortunately for Jenderseck, Wiley played just well enough to earn the job.


“After the first scrimmage, I felt like I was a little ahead of Eric because that was as good as I’ve ever done — I didn’t really miss any throws,” Jenderseck said. “I struggled a little bit in the second scrimmage and threw two interceptions, and that’s when I kind of knew it was Eric’s job. I was a little nervous going in knowing what was at stake.”


Jenderseck said losing the quarterback battle was tough at first because he’s a senior, but it didn’t take him long to realize it was best for the team and its desired success.


In putting his ego aside, he further solidified to his teammates and the coaching staff that he’s a true team player.


“I’ve tried to focus on the positive and do as much as I can for the team,” Jenderseck said. “I’ve recently been doing a little bit of tight end to see if I can help out there. And as I’ve gained knowledge over the years, I’ve been able to help younger guys and encourage the guys I’ve been with throughout high school.”


Of course, Jenderseck has still seen some time at quarterback in addition to his new ventures at tight end.


Against Deer Creek, he tacked on a 2-point conversion late in the fourth quarter with a completion to Sione Fatongia, capping off the Wolverines’ 34-17 district win.


“It was pretty special because I don’t get as much playing time as I wished I would,” Jenderseck said. “I prepare all week knowing I need to be ready for it and knowing what I need to know. I was ready when they called me.”


Jenderseck comes from a military family, which he credits for giving him the perspective he sports every day at practice.


His father, Sgt. Maj. Steven Jenderseck, has served his country in the Army for more than 25 years.

With such a high rank, the elder Jenderseck has plenty of responsibilities, which involves being deployed at several different locations throughout the world years at a time.


In total, Steven Jenderseck has missed up to six or seven years of his sons’ lives, even missing the birth of Kyler’s younger brother, Keegan, who is a sophomore at LHS.


“He didn’t get to sign the birth certificate or anything,” Kyler Jenderseck said.


However, Steven Jenderseck returned to Lawton earlier this year, and he doesn’t seem to be going anywhere for the foreseeable future.


Kyler Jenderseck said his father’s spotty absences didn’t affect him like it might others because his father was such a good role model when he was around.


“I see the work he puts in, and with everything he’s done for the military, he’s positively affected me and everything I do,” Kyler Jenderseck said. “It’s nice to have him home because he hasn’t been able to watch me in the stuff I do. I know he’s a lot happier getting to watch me and not having to be alone.”


Although there are levels of Steven Jenderseck’s job he is unfamiliar with, Kyler Jenderseck often compares his father’s position in the military to his own position on the Wolverines’ football team.


For Kyler Jenderseck, it’s all about having a positive influence on others, just like his father has on him.


“He’s a sergeant major and he’s over his soldiers, and I see myself as someone who the younger guys look up to,” Jenderseck said. “I didn’t want to leave them hanging because they might’ve needed me at some point during the season.


“Even if you’re not getting playtime on the field, playing sports will still have a positive impact on you going through life.”

bottom of page