top of page

NOTHING BUT GREEN: I have newfound appreciation for softball, WCWS


I never cared for softball.

That is a weird statement to make as a sports writer, I know. However, it is my job to be honest with my readers, and I have to give it to you all straight.

Softball never quite got me excited like the footballs and basketballs that most sports fans drool over. If Oklahoma didn't win the national championship last year, I am not sure I could have named who did.

It is not that I didn't have the opportunity to get into, though. I went to a high school that boasted five softball state championships, two of which were won during my time on campus.

Even Oklahoma State competing for the Big 12 title this season wasn't enough for me. I was stuck in my ways.

Part of the reason for my avoidance of softball was its similarity to baseball. It was always hard for me to enjoy baseball because of its game lengths.

It is not uncommon for baseball games to stretch to three or even four hours. Yes, football games tend to last longer that, but they are filled with much more action to wet my appetite. Baseball, not so much.

But I'll get back to that.

I didn't have an experience with softball until a doubleheader between Oklahoma State and North Texas in the spring of 2015.

I was covering the games for a class, and I didn't know much of what to look for the entire time I was there. I was confused on the terminology, and you can imagine my surprise when the games ended after only seven innings (yes, it took me until the age of 20 to figure that out).

Needless to say, I was ecstatic when it was over.

So when one of my first assignments here at The Constitution was the Women's College World Series, you can imagine my hesitation. I was excited to cover a major event, but I didn't expect an emotional epiphany to behold me.

However, when I arrived at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City last Thursday, any doubts filling my mind moments before quickly dissipated. What I had witnessed at that OSU doubleheader was only a drop in the bucket compared to what I had just walked into.

Faithful fans from all around the country filled the seats of the illustrious ballpark, ready to cheer their teams on, win or lose. Think a trip from the far northwest and southeast corners of the country for a softball tournament is a bit excessive? Not for supporters of Pac-12 powerhouses Washington and Oregon and SEC juggernauts Florida and LSU.

I had never looked at softball through such a wide scope, and I certainly never thought so many people could be passionate about the sport. I was taken aback by the whole thing, quite frankly.

I was able to soak in the sport and its traditions for the first time in my life, and after a few short minutes, I actually started to like it.

One of my favorite parts was when the fans went, "Whooooooooooop," as a ball rolled down the safety net. It made me feel like a child again, and I loved it.

I am not ashamed to say covering this tournament was one of the highlights of my career, rivaling even the NBA playoffs.

I am aware that is an outlandish statement to make because the NBA has such a large market. However, something about the Women's College World Series felt more pure.

People will attend an NBA game simply because of its popularity, but how many people show up for a college softball tournament who aren't true fans of the game? My guess is little to none.

After OU's 6-3 win against Baylor, I realized I was no longer doubtful. The final out came well after press time, but I didn't even mind because I was enjoying the moment.

On Day 2, I was so overwhelmed with eagerness, I got to the stadium early and covered the Florida – LSU game, in addition to the Sooners' showdown with Washington (which also ended after press time, so it worked out).

I didn't get to cover the championship series, that honor belonged to my veteran colleagues, but when I left the stadium for the final time last Friday, I felt like I had witnessed something magical.

Remember how I couldn't stand the length of games? I watched every second of that 17-inning, 5 1/2-hour marathon between OU and Florida. I was like a kid watching cartoons on Saturday morning.

People talk about the importance of stats in sports all the time, like it is the only thing that matters, but numbers can't even begin to gauge the emotions involved. That is why I love my job. The storytelling opportunities in sports are endless.

Sooners coach Patty Gasso and her players gave meaningful quotes. Their openness and willingness to answer questions trumps anything I've ever gotten from an NBA press conference. They don't take their limited time in the spotlight for granted.

I will remember covering the first two rounds of the Women's College World Series for the rest of my life. That might be a cliché, but it is something that truly fascinated me.

Just the atmosphere, the excitement and the newness of covering the sport made it monumental. It is crazy to think such a magnificent event was a mere 13-mile drive from the house I grew up in, and it never once crossed my mind to attend.

I got all of this from a sport I didn't think I would ever like a mere week before. Thank you to all the teams that competed in the tournament, for your mesmerizing play and competitive energy opened my eyes to the world of softball.

I will carry the experience with me throughout the rest of my career.

bottom of page